Government : To the right all…

Fourteen ministers and/or deputy ministers, seven men and seven women. First Council of Ministers this Friday, January 12 at 11 a.m.

In the end, there were few surprises in Gabriel Attal’s government, named on Thursday January 11, other than the fact that it is an “opening” government to the right. The surprise appointment of Rachida Dati, a Sarkozist, as Minister of Culture. She was immediately expelled from the Les Républicains party. And the appointment of Catherine Vautrin (Horizons) from Reims, who was tipped to be Emmanuel Macron’s Prime Minister in 2022, only to be beaten to the post by Elisabeth Borne.

With 5 months to go before the European elections and six before the Olympic Games.

All the Borne government’s heavyweights remain in place: Bruno Le Maire for the Economy, Gérald Darmanin for the Interior, Eric Dupond-Moretti for Justice. At the Quai d’Orsay, Stéphane Séjourné, Member of the European Parliament and previously Secretary General of the Macron party Renaissance.
There are, however, a few incongruities in this shock formation five months ahead of the European elections, from June 6 to 9, 2024, and six months ahead of the Summer Olympics, from July 26 to August 11, 2024.

An Olympic event

The most obvious one concerns the merger of the Ministries of Education and Sport, with the Olympic and Paralympic Games entrusted to Amélie Oudéa-Castéra. Admittedly, she was already Minister for Sport under the Borne government, but from now on she’ll have to share her time and skills with the Rue de Grenelle. An Olympic challenge in itself.
In fact, as the new Prime Minister announced on TF1 on Thursday evening, he will be demanding “action” and “results” from his team.
The political Olympics have begun.

Here is the list of ministers appointed by Emmanuel Macron, on the proposal of Prime Minister Gabriel Attal

Ministers :

  • M. Bruno LE MAIRE, ministre de l’Économie, des Finances et de la Souveraineté industrielle et Numérique ;
  • M. Gérald DARMANIN, ministre de l’Intérieur et des Outre-mer ;
  • Mme Catherine VAUTRIN, ministre du Travail, de la Santé et des Solidarités ;
  • Mme Amélie OUDÉA-CASTÉRA, ministre de l’Éducation nationale, de la Jeunesse, des Sports et des Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques ;
  • M. Marc FESNEAU, ministre de l’Agriculture et de la Souveraineté alimentaire ;
  • Mme Rachida DATI, ministre de la Culture ;
  • M. Sébastien LECORNU, ministre des Armées ;
  • M. Éric DUPOND-MORETTI, garde des Sceaux, ministre de la Justice ;
  • M. Stéphane SEJOURNÉ, ministre de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères ;
  • M. Christophe BÉCHU, ministre de la Transition écologique et de la Cohésion des territoires ;
  • Mme Sylvie RETAILLEAU, ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche ;

Ministers attached to the Prime Minister :

  • Mme Prisca THEVENOT, chargée du Renouveau démocratique, porte-parole du Gouvernement ;
  • Mme Marie LEBEC, chargée des Relations avec le Parlement ;
  • Mme Aurore BERGÉ, chargée de l’Égalité entre les femmes et les hommes et de la lutte contre les Discriminations.

The President of the Republic will convene all members of the Government for a Council of Ministers meeting on Friday January 12 at 11:00 am.